Response 5 – Planet SNB

 Task:

1.) For the parcel identified in Response 4, provide a plot showing both the current parcel and the original parcel.

Answers:

As a refresher, I chose a parcel with PID 55194856. This parcel is in Saint John and is currently owned by Irving Oil Limited. As mentioned previously, the original parcel was a whopping 2000 acres being granted to a ‘James Simonds’ and is currently only 0.72 acres. To put this into perspective, 2777 of the current parcels could fit within the original.

There is a part of me that enjoys doing property searches and chain of titles because you can find out lots of interesting information, in my opinion. For example, this man owned a vast amount of land as I concluded from the Grantor/Grantee Index. I also made the connection of why the high school a few blocks away from my parcel is named ‘Simonds High’.

Because of how much smaller the current parcel is I am showing the current parcel by itself first so viewers can see the dimensions clearly.

Below is a representation of where the current parcel is with respect to the original.

Author:

University of New Brunswick - Bachelor of Geomatics Student Blog for GGE 2501: Land Admin

Leave a comment